WHO'S THE REAL JOY SUCKER?


Ketziah Rachav © October 2010

This is an article that had to be written. I’m offically tired of being told, “Awww. You suck the fun out of life,” when I share the truth regarding certain holidays in light of scripture.

In reality, most people don’t want you to take the wool off their eyes. Rather than squinting into the Light of Truth, allowing their pupils to adjust, they immediately yank down the blindfold. For them, darkness is their preferred path, with no desire to investigate. The Lord gave me a Word regarding them, and His voice left me with a heavy heart when He said: “Those who regard worthless idols, forsake their own mercy [Hebrew: “chesed”],” (Jonah 2:8, NKJV).

I understand their trepidation, because I’ve traveled their road most of my life. But I’m done clinging to worthless idols and worrying about what “the world” will think. I’m through listening to the “spirit of lawlessness” that has held hostage holiness and obedience for almost 2,000 years. I want the real God: the God of Abraham, Issac and Jacob; Messiah Yeshua: Our Atonement, Savior, Deliverer, God made Flesh, the Lamb of God. By the Lord’s Spirit, I am putting into practice what was lost: a holy lifestyle according to what the Lord says in scripture. The closer I get to Him, the more He exposes sin—the world’s and my own. As I have dug into the Bible and church history, I have been amazed and appalled. How could we have let this “leaven in the lump” go on for so long? How? Because of the warm fuzzies of a Wool Walk.

The Wool Walk people bewail that I am trying to suck the joy out of their life when I share this: “I don’t observe certain holidays anymore because of their unbiblical and pagan connections.”

GIVEN UP LIST:
1. Halloween
2. Christmas
3. Easter
4. Birthdays

So tonight the answer hit me, as once again, someone accused me of being a “joy sucker”. I suddenly realized that they are the ones who have sucked the joy out of life by insisting on keeping those man-made celebrations and abandoning what God has specified. They are the ones who are missing out BIG time, not me. I may not celebrate their four days a year, but in exchange, I have inherited 10 God-ordained appointed times and two scriptural holidays full of joy, prophetic import and meaningful obedience to the Most High God and Savior who loves me.

WHAT I’VE GAINED YEARLY LIST:
1. Shabbat – every week! (52 days)
2. Passover – once a year (1 day)
3. Feast of Unleavened Bread – once a year (7 day long feast)
4. First Fruits (Resurrection of the Messiah) – (1 day)
5. The Counting of the Omer
6. Shavu’ot (Pentecost) – (1 day)
7. Yom Teruah (Day of Trumpets/Shouting) – (1 day)
8. Yom Kippur (Day of Atonement) – (1 day)
9. Sukkot (Feast of Tabernacles) – (7 days)
10. 8th Day – Day after the end of Sukkot – (1 day)
11. Purim (Esther’s Story) (1 day)
12. Channukah (Festival of Lights) (8 days)

DO THE MATH. Compare the lists. I’ve given up 4 human inspired/pagan-infected holidays, and in their place, I have gained 81 biblically-based feast days a year, plus the Counting of the Omer.

81 vs 4.

Now, who pours more joy into life? The Lord does. Hands down.

As for celebrating the birth of the Messiah, of course I’m estatic that our Savior was born, but if it were that important to have a holiday made for His birth, the Gospel writers would have told us. No one is totally sure when Yeshua was born, but the best guesses I’ve seen so far are either Yom Teruah or Sukkot in the fall. We all know it wasn’t December 25, a date attached to worship of a false god.

Why do we cling so tightly to the traditions of man and dangle God’s Word so neglectfully? It’s like jumping out of a plane and choosing a spider’s web over a parachute. His instructions are right there, in His Word, but we come along and say, “Hey wait, we have a better idea. Let’s do it this way instead. Did God really say . . . ?”

I hear hissing and the scrape of scales.

Yeshua said, “If you love me, keep my mitzvot [commandments].”

I love Him and His Word. God told us not to be like the pagans or to worship Him in the manner that they worshipped their gods. You cannot slap a “christian” label on a heathen thing and call it good. That is not how God does things. And just because we’ve done a thing for years does not make it right. Mere passage of time does not prove a practice is holy and acceptable to God.

God already gave us His instructions on how we should live our lives. It’s found in Genesis through Deuteronomy. We need to read the whole book, Genesis through Revelation. Walk by His Law. Saved by Grace when we fall. Thank you, Yeshua. God is Salvation. He is our righteousness.
He has showed you, O man, what is good.
And what does the Lord require of you?
To act justly and to love mercy and to walk humbly with your God.
Micah 6:8

My exchange began the day I asked Him, “Lord, what does this really mean, ‘God is Spirit and those who worship Him must worship Him in spirit and in truth’?” With tender fingers, He began to peel back the wool. I squinted against the brightness. As my eyes adjusted, I saw a glimpse of the Truth that had been kept from me. I had to see more. Soon, pieces of wool lay discarded at my feet. I would never be the same.

If you truly want to know the Holy One of Israel, seek Him with all your heart. He will be found. He wants to be found. But only as He truly is.

This entry was posted in Religious/Spiritual, Sociopolitical. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to WHO'S THE REAL JOY SUCKER?

  1. Your information Helped me Thanks you Much

  2. Great review! You actually overviewed some great news in this post. I came across it by using Yahoo and I’ve got to admit that I already subscribed to the site, will be following you on my iphone 🙂

  3. Tom Matuszak Ooltewah, Tn

  4. I’d have to acquiesce with you here. Which is not something I usually do! I really like reading a post that will make people think. Also, thanks for allowing me to comment!

Leave a Reply

